Writing Awards

The AGLSP still offers this series of awards, but the new website contains the updated information–please visit there for the current year’s contest information. The article below is out of date. Thank you.


Each year the Association of Graduate Liberal Studies Programs celebrates the writing of its graduate students and recent alumni with two writing awards, one focusing on critical inquiry and the other on creative writing. The guidelines for Full Member programs that wish to nominate entrees in the national competition call for a simple screening process designed by the participating program. Question? Contact the editor, Ken Smith, at IU South Bend: 574-520-4173 or ksmith (at) iusb (dot) edu.

Entries are due in January of 2011, and the winners will be introduced at the October 2011 annual conference in Saratoga Springs and each presented with a check for $500. The winning pieces will be published in the Fall 2011 issue of the journal, and all other entries will be considered for the journal as well.